GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


Cugat's reviews view profile

My daycare wasn't that cool!  
12345678910
on March 8, 2006 - 9:19 PM PST
  of Antitrust (2001)
 


My son and I thought it was worth watching. There was a certain level of tension that was sustained through most of the film. It is very hard to do that, and to keep the story believable at the same time. We have never been impressed with Claire Forlani, but the rest of the actors were very good. We both know a little about computers (cough), so we would call this pseudo-realistic sci-fi.
Half the time you drive a BMW, you will get shot at.  
12345678910
on February 8, 2006 - 12:56 AM PST
  of The Hire (2001)
0 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Thats what I learned from this disc.

It reminds me of some of the stuff they play before movies in the theater. The interesting part is seeing how far they go to avoid having the BMW lose races or appear like a steaming pile of metal after getting shot up.
This is not a 10!  
12345678910
on February 3, 2006 - 9:00 PM PST
  of Voices of a Distant Star (2002)
1 out of 7 members found this review helpful
 


For a 24 minute piece with no room for character development, done on a home computer, and ignoring that there has to be another human up there with her somewhere, its awesome. It does not hold up as competition for alot of the other titles it has been compared to in other reviews though. Its nice to have characters that get developed (Why did they put that cellphone-maniac girl in a mech and send her off to save humanity? Other animes usually answer this!).

I really hate when reviewers flock around something shouting "10! Best thing since sliced bread *and* toasters put together!" With reviews like that, if it ends up being a nine, people will be disappointed.
Overrated.  
12345678910
on October 13, 2005 - 8:17 PM PDT
  of Texhnolyze Vol. 1: Inhumane & Beautiful (2003)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I was pulled into watching this series by three other reviews rating it nine and ten. Its fairly good, but it is also a long slow downward spiral without a whole lot to give contrast to it. Not great for people who rely on comic relief to stay afloat.

If you don't mind, enjoy!
Filler?  
12345678910
on June 29, 2005 - 4:31 PM PDT
  of The Irresponsible Captain Tylor OVA Collection (Disc 1 of 3) (2001)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I remember the TV series had a good sense of irony, enough subplots to keep a decent pace with, and some ability to evade prediction.

All that goes out the window with disc one of this OVA. Key points in the end are guessable early on, internal conflicts humorlessly sprout up and haunt the show for long stretches of time, etc.

Maybe discs 2 and 3 are really spectacular, because lots of people seem to have rated it highly, and after seeing disc 1, I don't see why.
I didn't get it.  
12345678910
on June 16, 2005 - 9:38 PM PDT
  of The Tenant (1976)
1 out of 8 members found this review helpful
 


He goes flippin' insane, and it didn't seem to make sense, a howling mummy is a lousy trigger if that was it. I also didn't care for the Doubtfire angle of it. To mock another review, if awkward man dressed as woman psycho-thriller stuff appeals to you, well have fun.
Forget Lost in Translation  
12345678910
on June 9, 2005 - 7:35 PM PDT
  of Scrooged (1988)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


This is the film Bill Murray was meant for. Bonnie and Clyde fans - Michael Pollard is in this film. It is soooo good to see him again! My son likes Carol Kane as the Ghost of Christmas present. The script is great! John Forsythe plays a bit part too. Great comedy! NOT for the kids.
Teenager loves Tomato . . .  
12345678910
on June 9, 2005 - 7:21 PM PDT
  of Return of the Killer Tomatoes / Return to Horror High (1987)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


This review is for Return of the Killer Tomatoes.
(Horror High doesn't sound very funny!)
Anyhow, I am a big John Astin fan. In this movie Mr. Astin plays the EVIL doctor and turns tomatoes into everything except salad. The girl lead is BEAUTIFUL! It is a really stupid comedy - translated means hilarious!!! Anthony Starke is as funny as he was in Repossessed. Has to be seen to be believed! No kids! (George Clooney plays Anthony's sidekick, with lots of hair.)
Go Linda!  
12345678910
on June 9, 2005 - 7:05 PM PDT
  of Repossessed (1990)
0 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Some of us like stupid comedies. You know, the ones that make us laugh loud and long. I like Linda Blair and Leslie Nielsen. The comedy is really low, and we cannot stop laughing - no matter how many times we see it. Definitely NOT for the kids.
The second to the last movie in the world . . .  
12345678910
on June 9, 2005 - 6:54 PM PDT
  of Police Academy 7: Mission to Moscow (1994)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


(Score should be -1)
Police Academys 1 through 6 are worth watching, but 7 missed the mark - entirely! Timing is way off, story not developed, etc. YIKES! What a waste of $money$
The last movie in the world . . .  
12345678910
on June 9, 2005 - 6:25 PM PDT
  of Major League 2 (1994)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I saw this movie because I totally enjoyed Major League one. It was soooooooooooo good. So MLII couldn't be that bad, right? WRONG!!! The timing is all off, the jokes are bad, I cannot remember what the story was about, etc., etc. Do not waste your time if it is at all precious to you. (Score should be -1!) Watch Major League one again and have a GOOD time.
Beats watching paint dry.  
12345678910
on June 3, 2005 - 11:35 PM PDT
  of 2001: A Space Travesty (2001)
3 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


I rated this one, because I couldn't rate it zero.

If I had read the reviews I would have been spared, alas as a new member shoveling things into my queue, this came up first. Kudos for the quick delivery, perhaps an "are you sure" prompt is a good idea for movies of this calibre though...

First off, this has all but nothing to do with parodying 2001. What storyline it does have isn't enough to give enough guidance to the movie to keep the Leslie Nielsen type movie chaos in check, and the directionless stabs of humor hit like overcooked noodles being flung from an uncoordinated kid.

This poor excuse for a movie should be avoided if you have any other options for entertainment, pick anything at random and you've probably found something better.

I have stronger things to say about this, but it just wouldn't be appropriate here.

All I can say is, you have been warned!
Bumpy ride.  
12345678910
on June 3, 2005 - 8:31 PM PDT
  of All of Me (1984)
0 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Steve Martin stumbles through a tedious script, with a few high-points thrown in to get you through the movie. If awkward woman-trapped-in-man comedies work for you, check it out.

It would have been great as a stage-play. As a movie I expected a more fine tuned effort with the frequent voiceovers and the timing/flow of the presentation.

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.