GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


MBreslau's reviews view profile

page  1  2  3  4  5      prev | next
Couldn't get into it  
12345678910
on December 5, 2011 - 4:47 AM PST
  of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
 


I had to turn it off after 20 minutes. I didn't like or identify with any of the protagonists; and up to then the film seemed to be about unfortunate misfits and I had no interest in watching more.

Your milage may vary, but that's my reaction.
Mike
Great Visuals  
12345678910
on October 21, 2011 - 5:01 AM PDT
  of Top Gun (1986)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Full disclosure: This isn't the kind of movie I usually enjoy...

I didn't care at all for the characters (testosterone poisoning), the plot was simple, but the cinematography was superb!

If you like adrenaline-films, go for it.
Excellent acting by Hanks  
12345678910
on October 8, 2011 - 7:42 AM PDT
  of Big (1988)
 


He had the perfect spot-on expression of a child out-of-his-element.
Very convincing portrayal of a fantasy situation.
Good job.
We enjoyed it.
MIke
The Movie version is better than this TV version  
12345678910
on September 23, 2011 - 12:16 PM PDT
  of The Secret Garden (1987)
 


This version of Mary sounds emotionally flat - as if she's reading her lines, but not feeling the underlying emotion - until the last few scenes.

Dicken the gardner steals the show in my opinion. He's good, and convincingly magical. The adults are less severe, more human, then in the movie version. Perhaps that's an advantage to this version.

The black cat in the opening scenes is never explained or justified. In fact, the opening/closing scenes with adult Mary is quite unnecesarry.

Still, it's worth watching.
A Classic Masterpiece  
12345678910
on September 13, 2011 - 9:01 AM PDT
  of Modern Times (Criterion) (1936)
 


Chaplin at this best - with soundtrack (but no speaking)! It does contain the famous "singing waiter" scene - with Charlie singing nonsense syllables. Chaplin's style - silent movie - adapts easily to worldwide distribution - no subbing or dubbing needed. Alas, this style was already out of favor in 1936, and Chaplin had to retire from the screen for a while.
Very Funny  
12345678910
on September 12, 2011 - 5:31 AM PDT
  of The Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult (1994)
 


Silly and amusing. I found the opening and ending credits to be worth the viewing, even if you find the rest of the humor to be "formulaic"
Mike
Couldn't watch it.  
12345678910
on September 5, 2011 - 5:34 AM PDT
  of Bridget Jones's Diary (Collector's Edition) (2001)
 


Maybe it gets better later on, but my wife and I agreed to turn it off after 25 minutes (and it took great forbearance to watch it that long).

Okay, Bridget is a total loser, henpecked by her mother, commitment-shy, a slacker, and a basket case. I get it already. What I don't get is why I should care? Is meeting the 'right' man going to turn her life around?
I doubt it. She has no backbone and will never change.

Watching this movie does nothing to improve my quality-of-life.
Mike
A more mature film from Pixar  
12345678910
on August 14, 2011 - 1:25 PM PDT
  of Toy Story 3 (2010)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Andy has grown up (he's leaving for colege) and so has Pixar. This film has more mature themes (no, not 'adult' - this is still Disney) than its predecessors. As Toy Stories go, this is more complex, more involving, than the earlier ones. I viewed in 2D, so I can't comment on the 3D aspect.

Despite the name, this may not be a film for young children. It has some terrifying scenes (but then, so dis the earliest Disney feature-length animations)
A must-see  
12345678910
on May 7, 2011 - 5:19 AM PDT
  of Capitalism: A Love Story (2009)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Michael Moore has matured as a fim maker/social critic. This is a powerful film, depressing with some grandly uplifting moments.
If you're in the top 1% financially then you will hate this film.
Nice soundtrack, too.
Tasty movie...  
12345678910
on April 16, 2011 - 6:02 AM PDT
  of Julie & Julia (2009)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


It's more about interpersonal relationships than it is about cooking, but there's plenty of both here.

If you only like movies where things explode, this one is a snoozer.
If you like realistic, very-well-done movie making, this is a keeper.
Enjoyed it  
12345678910
on April 8, 2011 - 6:14 AM PDT
  of Alice in Wonderland (Special Edition) (1951)
 


It only took a minute for me to reset my esthetic standards to 1950. Once that was done, I was watching an old, but very well done, Disney animation.
Lewis Carroll would have loved this film  
12345678910
on April 2, 2011 - 6:36 AM PDT
  of Alice In Wonderland (1999)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Remarkably faithful to the letter and the spirit of the Alice book. It's also more complete (comprehensive) than other films that I've seen - White Knight anyone?
Very talented cast, and a perfect 'Alice'.
Wonderful sets, costumes, special effects, etc.
As you can tell, I really liked it.
Mike
Caution advised  
12345678910
on April 1, 2011 - 5:44 AM PDT
  of Alice in Wonderland (1966)
 


If you have trouble falling asleep, this is the film for you.
If you can talk without moving your lips (as Alice can), this is for you
If you never read Lewis Carroll and are high on a recreational drug, you might like this.
Alice runs the complete emotional gamut from sullen and impassive to sullen and impassive. She makes Spock look emotional!
There are plenty of more enjoyable Alice in Wonderland films to choose from.
Very enjoyable  
12345678910
on March 26, 2011 - 5:14 AM PDT
  of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1972)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


This film intentionally looks as if it was made much earlier as it attempts to be as faithful as it can to the original era and spirit of Dodgeson's writing. There is plenty of talent to go around (Fullerton is wonderful!) If you needed a fully contemporary or American film experience then you ought to look elsewhere - this is a distinctly British work.
Gene Roddenberry might just be weeping...  
12345678910
on March 25, 2011 - 5:14 AM PDT
  of Star Trek (2009)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


It's a good movie if you like Sci-Fi violence and conflict and action - but it's not Star Trek.

Gene Roddenberry's vision for Star Trek was a future world where war, disease, poverty and conflict were all left in the past. ST TOS and ST TNG were true to this vision. Then Gene died, and DS9 turned violent.

The original Star Trek got along just fine without revenge-driven world-destroying one-dimensional villains.

This film depicts Kirk as a rebellious thrill-seeking authority-rejecting hothead with no sense of restraint, judgement or balance. Maybe he was (will be?), but I would never allow this Kirk to command a starship - especially when he has yet to graduate from the academy!

If they had changed the names of the characters and not called it Star Trek I would have liked it much better.
Did I order this? If so, Why?  
12345678910
on March 12, 2011 - 5:33 AM PST
  of One Fine Day (1996)
 


My wife and I gave up after 45 minutes - we found nothing to like and much to dislike in this film. 45 minutes of watching two overcommitted, frantic, stressed, moderately attractive divorced parents rub each other the wrong way while their little children dislike each other too is 54 minutes too much!
Over the top & hectic  
12345678910
on March 1, 2011 - 3:46 PM PST
  of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs (2009)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


On one hand, it's excessive in all respects: overenthusiastic, exaggerated, extreme, and unbelievable.

On the other hand, I was giggling almost all the time (and I don't giggle easily) except when I was exclaiming "that's impossible"!

Yes, the plot and story are suitable for children's books.
Yes, it portrays nerds in a good light.
Yes, that doesn't stop it from being a very enjoyable movie.
Excellently done, but flawed  
12345678910
on February 25, 2011 - 4:35 AM PST
  of As You Like It (2007)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


The title leads one to expect light Shakespearian entertainment - you know, with mistaken identities, declaiming lovers, cross-dressing, wise fools, convoluted plots that all work out for the best in the end, etc.

An Elizabethan Mikado this isn't!

The movie opens with a shot establishing that the setting is medieval Japan, but it is quickly followed by a scene of brutal violence in which a Duke is deposed by his brother, then another man declaims how he hates and despises his own brother. I was so traumatized that I spent the next two hours wondering when the brutality would resume! This is not the way to take in a romantic comedy...
Good film, realistic portrayal of Russia  
12345678910
on February 20, 2011 - 7:14 AM PST
  of Moscow on the Hudson (1984)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


My wife and I enjoyed this film quite a bit. Moving and endearing.

A friend, a Russian expatriate, suggested that we see it, said it's a highly accurate depiction of life in the USSR.
Very good, but overly stylized/artistic  
12345678910
on February 18, 2011 - 9:29 AM PST
  of Love's Labour's Lost (2000)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


William Shakespeare and Cole Porter seamlessly blended? Unlikely, but it works.

It took me a few minutes to figure out what I was watching - vintage newsreels from a non-existent 1939's history timeline? Impeccable stage (not movie) acting and oration? Whatever it was, it was very skillfully done with a talented crew, but sometimes pretentious for art's sake.

Enjoy, but be prepared...
page  1  2  3  4  5      prev | next

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.