GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


MLouv's reviews view profile

page  1  2      prev | next
I agree with Nate.  
12345678910
on December 31, 2006 - 4:45 PM PST
  of Before Sunrise (1995)
 


A movie that stands on dialogue and repeated close-ups of two faces...what a treat.
Urg.  
12345678910
on April 9, 2004 - 2:04 PM PDT
  of Wes Craven's New Nightmare (1994)
 


Somewhat clever. Squandered comedic potential. Weighed down by an hour of filler. Leaves you with that awful "I just sat on a couch for two hours" feeling that only watching horror movie sequels can elicit.
Meh.  
12345678910
on September 26, 2003 - 8:26 PM PDT
  of The Thing (1951)
0 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


I tried viewing this movie through the lens of historical appreciation, but even then all I saw was 87 minutes of needless dialogue spoken in frantic, grating tones, ruining any suspense which could otherwise have been allowed to build. There are only about three attempted scares, and only one of them is effective.
An affront to the senses.  
12345678910
on February 14, 2003 - 9:33 PM PST
  of Phantasm (1979)
6 out of 16 members found this review helpful
 


My god, I saw this at a friend's house and after it ended I wanted to run my head through the garbage disposal a few times. The worst acting/screenwriting I've ever seen (and that's including the last James Bond). Half the scenes are completely unnecessary, it moves almost as slow as The Omen, and is about as frightening as watching a baby being rocked into a peaceful slumber.
Mmmm, makes me feel all squishy inside.  
12345678910
on October 1, 2002 - 4:23 PM PDT
  of Seven Samurai (Criterion Collection) (1954)
4 out of 17 members found this review helpful
 


A fourteen year old sat through it with no prompting and with a couple hours of homework looming precariously close.
Movie good. Extras bad.  
12345678910
on August 27, 2002 - 9:15 AM PDT
  of The Royal Tenenbaums (Criterion Collection) (Bonus Disc) (2001)
3 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


I will say that The Royal Tenenbaums is one of the most inspiring movies i've ever seen, but the bonus disc doesn't serve it justice. It seems like a second disc was just patched on last minute to try to boost sales. Contained within is a documentary about how Wes Anderson is obsessive/compulsive, a tragically pretentious interview with some one-liner characters from Wes' three movies (they ask the guy who played a paramedic how he prepared for his role) that reads like some bastard offspring of Inside The Actor's Studio, and some short, unsatisfying interviews with the real actors. Justification please?
Charlton Heston...for three hours.  
12345678910
on July 18, 2002 - 10:33 PM PDT
  of Ben-Hur (Collector's Edition) (Disc 1 of 2) (1959)
5 out of 12 members found this review helpful
 


I came into this movie after hearing my father glorify it with words of splendor and amazement, and I guess some of it rubbed off on me initially, and rubbed out some of it's failing points. First off, it is surprisingly violent in parts and I don't think the G rating's quite fitting. The storyline unfolds well enough, but in the end it turns out to be a Jesus metaphor? I felt beaten down by the belligerent religious innuendo. Maybe I'm missing the whole point of the movie, but I hate it when films try to seduce me into another mindframe.
Totally flips out.  
12345678910
on July 11, 2002 - 1:03 PM PDT
  of Six-String Samurai (1998)
4 out of 8 members found this review helpful
 


Despite the strange voice dubbing, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Seeing death wail on a guitar is timeless. I'm assuming this is the single biggest influence on www.realultimatepower.net
This movie has been beaten to death  
12345678910
on July 2, 2002 - 11:17 AM PDT
  of The Exorcist (1973)
2 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


The hype surrounding this movie ruined any shock factor involved with the gore. I'm fourteen and I found it completely unfrightening due to my prior knowledge of the "intense horrors." It only manages to be cruel and sadistic.
Yea verily.  
12345678910
on June 8, 2002 - 8:06 PM PDT
  of Dark City (1998)
2 out of 16 members found this review helpful
 


Very entertaining movie suspiciously reminiscient of Brazil. A bit too pretentious at times but it's much easier to follow than it's convoluted ancestor.
Good wholesome ass-kicking  
12345678910
on June 6, 2002 - 10:23 AM PDT
  of Predator (Collector's Edition) (1987)
3 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Although it is possibly one of the least eloquently-done movies of all time, Predator is absolutely priceless. Laced with the obligatorily stupid lines from Arnold such as "What's got Billy so spooked?" you find yourself laughing more than McTiernan would have smiled upon.
X-Files without Duchoveny  
12345678910
on June 6, 2002 - 10:17 AM PDT
  of The Mothman Prophecies (2002)
3 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Two hours of Richard Gere looking paranoid.
I would love a bite of your sandwich.  
12345678910
on May 27, 2002 - 9:10 AM PDT
  of Fishing with John (Criterion Collection) (1992)
13 out of 14 members found this review helpful
 


Tom Waits, on a boat, for half an hour. Absolutely priceless. This is one of those rare miniseries which can be watched all in one day. Absolutely priceless.
It will please  
12345678910
on May 27, 2002 - 9:07 AM PDT
  of Vampire Hunter D (1985)
5 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


I generally don't like anime. As a rule I think it's completely nonsensical and bizzare. So I guess you could say Vampire Hunter's a bit of a wild card.

Though the animation is visibly outdated, the movie being made in '85, the plot is involving and strikes a chord long left unsatisfied by countless Dracula movies. I love the imagery of the film, the ambiance of the mountain village is haunting.
It's hard being a cybernetically enchanced killing love machine.  
12345678910
on May 20, 2002 - 6:01 PM PDT
  of 8 Man (1992)
3 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


Such a flagrant ripoff of Robocop it's not even funny in the least. The climax is interesting but badly done. It would be nice if there was a subtitle option to save us from the horrible english voice acting.

It is fun though.
Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man? No, have you?  
12345678910
on April 22, 2002 - 3:28 PM PDT
  of Aliens (1986)
4 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


This is one of those movies like jaws that you can watch again and again and again. Bullets fly, testosterone flows, and yet it still manages to be a bit creepy at points, though it thrives much more on "startle tactics" than the first one. Overall, very, very cool. The video games are good too.
Trust me, my screams were easily heard.  
12345678910
on April 22, 2002 - 3:24 PM PDT
  of Alien (1979)
4 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Definitely my favorite sci-fi movie, hands down. Ridley Scott, of Blade Runner and Gladiator fame, combines every major aspect of a good horror film into one swirling mass of tension and sheer terror that seems to last with you weeks after seeing it. He uses isolation, conflict within the crew, claustrophobia, fire, monsters, shadows, sets, and of course you can't forget Giger's masterworks of bizzare alien flesh structures.

Creeeepy.

It's actually, by today's standards, not very "gory", though is far more frightening than anything that's come out in the last few years.

A better pick over Aliens for those of us who can appreciate a work of art.
Creeeeeeepy  
12345678910
on April 6, 2002 - 10:08 PM PST
  of Heavy (1995)
4 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


This movie is not so much a film not loved to be watched, but to be appreciated. It's one of those movies you can't watch more than once. The relationship between the two main characters is superbly tense. The neuroses build subtly until it stares you in the face and it's really quite frightening. Watch it. Please.
Surprising.  
12345678910
on April 6, 2002 - 10:02 PM PST
  of Billy Elliot (2000)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Billy Elliot seems like the kind of sappy, "everyone can enjoy it" movies cranked out for an overly-sentimental American audience such as October Sky, but it really isn't. The acting is surprisingly intense and well-done except for a few lines. All the characters seem completely believeable, and coupled with subtle sexual overtones, a tapestry of human emotion is weaved with delicate precision. Kudos to Daldry.
Arf and such  
12345678910
on March 21, 2002 - 12:25 PM PST
  of The Hound of the Baskervilles (1983)
2 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Bad eighties remake with little redeeming value except for the Brian Blessed character. If you like mysteries, knock yourself out, but the movie never really caught my attention. It feels more like a miniseries than a movie.
page  1  2      prev | next

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.