GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


WZoller's reviews view profile

page  1  2  3      prev | next
great cast  
12345678910
on August 22, 2011 - 1:33 PM PDT
  of Super (2011)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


ellen page and kevin bacon made this movie for me. neat story, great acting, definitely worth renting!
an accurate account  
12345678910
on February 28, 2011 - 12:01 PM PST
  of Secretariat (2010)
 


story and acting were good. my only problem was with malkovich who was really miscast as lucien laurin.
english accents seemed out of place  
12345678910
on September 3, 2009 - 3:01 PM PDT
  of Valkyrie (2008)
1 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


i'd love to know why this movie was not made in german instead of english. couldn't the actors speak or learn their german parts? i think if it was done in german, it would have been more realistic.
read the book  
12345678910
on June 24, 2009 - 2:51 PM PDT
  of Marley & Me (2008)
 


i was very disappointed with this movie after having read such a captivating book. owen wilson was the last actor i would have chosen to portray the author and kathleen turner as the dog trainer was beyond ridiculous.
an engrossing movie  
12345678910
on May 5, 2009 - 3:01 PM PDT
  of Black Book (2006)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


i was captivated with this movie from beginning to end as there are a lot of twists and turns along the way. acting, directing and cinematography are first rate. my only problem was with the musical score (primarily the background music) which reminded me of the music heard on a tv show or a movie of the week instead of a first rate move. in this case perhaps less music would have been more?
what's the point?  
12345678910
on March 7, 2009 - 8:34 AM PST
  of King of the Hill (2007)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


don't waste your time with this film! I only gave it a 3 because of the acting; the story had no point.
slow down you move too fast!  
12345678910
on March 5, 2009 - 1:16 PM PST
  of Bad Timing (Criterion Collection) (1980)
3 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


This movie was definitely a showcase for Theresa Russell and her different hairstyles, not to mention her acting talents. My main problem was with the selection of Art Garfunkel to play the main male lead. His lack of acting was so evident in most scenes. My alternatives for his role would be any of the following: Peter Fonda; David Bowie; Harrison Ford; Mick Jagger; Tom Skerritt; Mark Hamill. I liked the idea of showing the whole story in flashbacks and the music blended very well. I was expecting something much worse and more erotic because that was how it was depicted when it was originally released.
don't bother  
12345678910
on February 7, 2008 - 3:22 PM PST
  of Syndromes and a Century (2006)
1 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


slow moving; repetitive; didn't really go anywhere.
mr streisand's best performance  
12345678910
on November 30, 2007 - 1:36 PM PST
  of Gas Food Lodging (1992)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


good acting throughout this coming of age film, but the best underrated performance goes to robert young's former co-star.
make sure you read the book  
12345678910
on April 23, 2007 - 12:50 PM PDT
  of Fast Food Nation (2006)
6 out of 9 members found this review helpful
 


I pictured this well written book being made into a documentary. Instead this movie is hard to decipher. Too many subplots going on at the same time that actually take away from the main point of the book--that big corporations are putting the small farmers out of business. Morgan Spurlock does a better job of interviewing the author about his beliefs in the special features of his Super Size Me DVD than is presented here in this movie. The actors here actually detract from the message. Too bad!
Very disappointing  
12345678910
on July 17, 2006 - 9:44 AM PDT
  of The New World (2005)
2 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


It's sad when the "Making of" feature is better than the actual film. My wife and I thought that this movie was too slow, poorly edited, too long, and used the wrong music. And Colin Farrell's acting left something to be desired. The photography was its only saving grace.
Why can't Hollywood make movies like these?  
12345678910
on October 24, 2005 - 11:51 AM PDT
  of The Chorus (2004)
1 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Have to hand it to the French. This is a well made family movie with terrific acting and a heart warming story. I personally prefer it over animated movies that are more prominent here or comic book characters that are becoming a dime a dozen.
Your parents said not to pick up hitchhikers  
12345678910
on October 16, 2005 - 2:59 PM PDT
  of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (2005)
1 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Disappointing. The book and BBC productions are so much better. Acting is so-so. Still a worthwhile rental if only to compare it to the other mediums.
You can't fool Mother Nature  
12345678910
on October 16, 2005 - 2:49 PM PDT
  of Vanilla Sky (2001)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Make sure you see the original Spanish movie. It is superior to this one and Penelope Cruz acts better in that one than she does in this one (Spanish vs. English?). Cruise and Diaz were never believable in their roles and Kurt Russell is wasted.
Both sides of problem are presented well  
12345678910
on April 4, 2005 - 3:37 PM PDT
  of Farmingville (2003)
3 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


The filmakers do a great job of presenting how both sides of the immigration issue are effecting this small Long Island community. My only comment is that the employers of these "illegal immigrants" are reaping all of the benefits of their employment without contributing anything to solve the problem. How does this differ from outsourcing employment to other countries where workers are earning less than American workers?
The movie left me with more questions than answers.
Well worth renting this one  
12345678910
on March 29, 2005 - 7:37 AM PST
  of The Commitments (1991)
2 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


I had originally heard about this title in a book published by the Bank of America of "Top Movies." The author claimed that this was his favorite musical of all time. While I would not go that far, it certainly was worth renting. The cast was basically unknown, but the music and story are certainly recognizable. Once your hooked into the premise, the time goes by pretty quick. There are a lot of subtleties and one liners that are pretty neat. And the ending isn't probably what you expect. Well worth the investment.
The best way to talk to a woman is when she is in a coma.  
12345678910
on February 15, 2005 - 12:40 PM PST
  of Talk to Her (2002)
2 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


This movie really impressed me when I first saw it a few years ago. The story is certainly unique. The acting is first rate. And the guest appearance by Geraldine Chaplin adds a lot to the story, including the silent film footage within the film. The commentary by Almodovar and Chaplin is certainly interesting as well. Highly recommended.
The novel vs. reality  
12345678910
on February 9, 2005 - 8:14 AM PST
  of Sex and Lucia (2001)
1 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


The underlying premise reminds me a little of Mulholland Drive, where you try to separate the real world from fiction. The extras on the DVD including the interviews with the actors are very interesting. See if you agree with the director about the light and colors used in photograping the various scenes.
Direct to TC (Trash Can)  
12345678910
on December 6, 2004 - 1:25 PM PST
  of Diary of a Sex Addict (2001)
1 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Predictable story. Skip it. Not worth your time. At best, the actor's got a pay check out of it.
Documentary is better than the movie  
12345678910
on November 26, 2004 - 9:28 AM PST
  of Dancing at the Blue Iguana (2000)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


The documentary done by Daryl Hannah on researching her part is more entertaining than the movie itself.
page  1  2  3      prev | next

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.