GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


carolynsearches's reviews view profile

Watch The German Version  
12345678910
on October 11, 2004 - 6:40 PM PDT
  of The Blue Angel (English Version) (1930)
8 out of 8 members found this review helpful
 


They filmed the English version simultaneously while producing the German version -- the English is the original actors. HOWEVER, I watched both versions in the same evening. The German version has much more depth in plot (a lot of dialogue is glossed over in the English version). An AMAZING film on the archetype of woman as corrupting man. Rent a cartoon or comedy to cheer yourself afterwards. (9 is for German version, 6 for English)
Post War Economics  
12345678910
on July 7, 2004 - 9:18 PM PDT
  of The Bicycle Thief (1948)
3 out of 9 members found this review helpful
 


Interesting film, not only for its touching relationship between father and son, but for its window into post-WW2 Rome.
One Word For This Film  
12345678910
on July 7, 2004 - 9:15 PM PDT
  of Closely Watched Trains (Criterion Collection) (1966)
1 out of 23 members found this review helpful
 


Boring....
This movie bites  
12345678910
on June 24, 2004 - 6:10 PM PDT
  of Hardware Wars (1978)
2 out of 7 members found this review helpful
 


If there were a zero rating, this movie would get it. Nothing, and I mean nothing, about this was funny, clever, or remotely charming. Such a bummer, was all set to watch a hearty spoof of one of my favs, the classic star wars.
gregor samsa revisited  
12345678910
on June 12, 2004 - 8:41 PM PDT
  of Office Space (1999)
4 out of 10 members found this review helpful
 


a brilliant mockery of corporate life.
Bad hair, bad plot, and bad acting  
12345678910
on October 20, 2003 - 8:17 PM PDT
  of The Lady from Shanghai (1948)
5 out of 16 members found this review helpful
 


Say it isn't so. Orson Welles is generally a fav of mine. But, this was so disappointing. Rita Hayworth with blonde hair - ickk. A plot that was bizarro -- not in an appreciable, David Lynch or French movie kind of sense - just in a "you must've failed connect-the-dots" as a child, sense. And, dare I say it, just plain poor acting.

There is a Dali-made-in-to-film feel to the scene shot in an amusement park (what is it with Orson and these things?), but, not even the wardrobe can redeem this movie.

If you are trying to complete your Welles repertoire, just sign this one off as one to miss.
Source Material for Chicken Run, Animaniacs, et. al.  
12345678910
on October 3, 2003 - 9:57 PM PDT
  of Stalag 17 (1953)
2 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Ok, I only saw a few scenes on cable yesterday. And I was intrigued enough to rent the film (yes, its in my queue). But, I have to say, "where have you been?!?" to the prior reviewer. Of course, Hogan's Heroes was based upon Stalag 17 -- everyone knows that (apparently NOT everyone). This is a classic. And from what little I've seen of it so far, for good reason. Dude (or dudette), there's a reason why you study great literature (and even sucky literature) in high school, so you're prepped to understand the references of all the post modern stuff. Same goes for film. Do your homework!!!

I'll post an updated review after I've seen it in its entirity.
good, messy fun  
12345678910
on August 18, 2003 - 10:14 PM PDT
  of Shiri (1999)
4 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


Oh come on, all you prior reviewers. Its an ACTION movie -- emphasis on the verb aspect of the movie. Sure its got cool cinimatography and the ubiquitous gore, better than most. Ever disected an Ahnold or Mel Gibson plot -- oh so plausible. Get a grip! If you like action movies and are sick of the same ol' American schlock, check this one out.
Film Student TRIES desperately to be original  
12345678910
on June 6, 2003 - 4:01 PM PDT
  of All the Vermeers in New York (1990)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Ok. I saw this movie in the theater, which, generally improves the movie experience -- even THAT couldn't help. This movie is plagued by ridiculous attempts to provide original camera angles -- what seemed like an eternity of sweeping shots across a black and white checkered floor nearly caused me to drag my boyfriend out before we both wanted to pelt the screen with popcorn, junior mints, and useless bits of gum scraped from the floor.... but we stayed (and no projectiles were launched) .... for more torturous violin music and an even LESS enjoyable plot. Rent this one if you are trying to TORMENT someone you really despise -- just be sure to leave the room immediately after hitting "play."
Foie Gras Sashimi  
12345678910
on June 6, 2003 - 3:37 PM PDT
  of Wasabi (2001)
7 out of 7 members found this review helpful
 


"Lethal Weapon" done with French style and Japanese precision. An excellent role for Reno. If you like action, this one's for you. I just wish they'd release a soundtrack stateside, the music is amazing.

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.