GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


evilcupcakes's reviews view profile

I LOVE This Film!  
12345678910
on September 30, 2004 - 4:16 PM PDT
  of Suspiria (1977)
5 out of 8 members found this review helpful
 


This is one of my all time favorite horror films. The sets are incredible, the costumes and make up are great, the music is one of the best horror movie soundtracks of all time. It contains some of the most diabolical death scenes ever, including a creative use for baling wire. Jessica Harper is her usual doe-eyed girl-next-door self. All in all I can't recommend this one highly enough. If you love Italian horror, this stylish entry is the one that set the bar high and has yet to be surpassed.
Bite the Apple!  
12345678910
on September 30, 2004 - 4:07 PM PDT
  of The Apple (1980)
4 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


This "futuristic" musical is like a glitter enema being administered on a cold metal table by a cute German nurse with a lazy eye while Donna Summer's "MacArthur Park" plays over the loud speaker at slightly the wrong speed. It's all starts with a music contest in the future of 1994 (and you know it's the future because everyone has stuff made out Plexiglas and trash bags) run by a pimpy looking guy who is probably the least threatening incarnation of evil on the screen since Gargamel, and it just goes downhill from there. The music is atrocious, but in a "man, I will be singing THAT for a week" kinda way, the make up and costumes are hysterical in a "only in the 80s" kinda way, and you KNOW the acting is bad when one of the leads pants turns in a more mesmerizing performance than he does.

In summery, you MUST see this movie to believe it. It is my all-time favorite movie... next to Xanadu of course..... so take that into consideration when you rent this....

PS look for Yma Sumac in a very brief cameo during the Ballet 2000 sequence.
Creepy!  
12345678910
on September 30, 2004 - 3:33 PM PDT
  of Pin (1988)
6 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


I happened to catch this little freak-fest a long time ago on late night TV with a friend. We have been searching for it ever since and it's nice to have finally found it. It's basically about a young man who becomes obsessed with his father's (a doctor) "anatomically correct" skinless anatomy dummy, Pin. Pin turns out to be a bit of a troublemaker, he has sex with nurses, causes traffic accidents, and eventually becomes the young boy's alter-ego via ventriloquism. Sometimes it's hard to determine if Pin is somehow demonically possessed or if the people around him/it are so completely emotionally disturbed it drives them to these behaviors. This movie is a little slow, but definitely disturbing and psychologically intense.
Presenting... THE TOPLESS!  
12345678910
on September 27, 2004 - 11:25 AM PDT
  of Mondo Topless (1966)
6 out of 6 members found this review helpful
 


This film is so much fun! Some friends and I decided to rent this after we heard that the world had lost Mr. Meyers. Don't watch this movie expecting to see anything resembling coherency or plot, it's all about BREASTS, the bigger the better! Russ Meyer's spends 61 minutes exploring his favorite fetish with nothing but topless women shaking what nature gave'em to some of the swingingest tunes ever put on celluloid. The narration is silly and so over the top, but the best part is how he keeps referring to it as THE topless, because apparently in his world it is more than just a state of being, it is an entity unto itself. This a great film to watch while drunk and feeling silly. I give it a 44DD rating!!
Oh Man.....  
12345678910
on September 27, 2004 - 11:09 AM PDT
  of Desecration (1999)
3 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Wow. This movie really sucks. I can appreciate low budget horror, but this film is pretentious and laughable. I won't spoil it for you by giving away the key moments, but there are death scenes so absurd and special effects so poorly executed you would think that Ed Wood was the technical advisor on this stinkfest. I never really figured out the plot, as my friends and I were laughing so hard we missed most of the dialogue- which seemed pointless to begin with. To be fair, I think the director has some potential, given enough money and a decent writer. But, bad effects, bad acting, bad dialogue, bad Italian accents, bad sets (why does the convent interior look like an abandoned building??), fake Catholicism, and general confusion defeat any chance this film had. In other words, I think he meant well, but the road to hell is paved with good intentions.
GLORIOUS!  
12345678910
on June 10, 2004 - 5:54 PM PDT
  of Titus (1999)
5 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


YES! This is what film making should be about! A very brilliant and original adaptation of Shakespeare that is at once modern yet timeless. This film is so mind blowingly lush and sensual that it can even make the mutilation of Lavinia an act of vulgar poetry. Alan Cumming is perfect as the Caligula-esque Saturninus, Anthony Hopkins is great as the beleaguered warrior Titus. Jessica Lange was, well, Jessica Lange, which is a good thing, but I didn't find her as engaging in her roll as I did the other actors for reasons I can't quite express. This tale of the price of vengeance is one of Shakespeare's buried treasures, which is odd because for some reason I find it to be the one I feel was somehow his most personal work. I think Taymor manages to utilize the sadistic glee of the tale without sacrificing the very human sorrow at the core of it. Great costumes, great direction, great sets, great acting, it's all there. If you haven't seen this you MUST!
You got your pretentiousness in my punk rock!  
12345678910
on June 10, 2004 - 5:41 PM PDT
  of Jubilee (Criterion Collection) (1978)
8 out of 8 members found this review helpful
 


Let's start on a positive note, shall we? This film was not all bad. Some of the sets and costumes were great, and in many ways it captured some of the angst and frustration of the punk rock scene in England at that time. Not that I was there mind you, I read about it. In some book. Ok, it's what I *imagine* it would have been like, having been a fan of the music for many years. HOWEVER, all the weird crap with some guy in a spandex catsuit, Rif from Rocky Horror, and Queen Elizabeth musing on the nature of... I don't know, "time"? Was it? Or "life" or some such nonsense- was just dreadful and distracting. And Toyah Wilcox's character became so ANNOYING and overwrought I wanted to shoot her myself. On the plus side, Adam Ant is adorable, Toyah Wilcox does manage to pull of a really great scene at the end, and as it turns out she is married to Robert Fripp in real life. Not that that improves watching this movie, but I like his music...
Zeig Heil in my Maidenform Bra!  
12345678910
on June 10, 2004 - 5:28 PM PDT
  of Ilsa: She Wolf of the SS (1974)
4 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


I waited a long time to see this movie. I had heard rumors and whispers about this "forbidden " treasure and couldn't wait to see it myself.

Well... it wasn't *quite* what I was expecting. Of course, after all the hype I don't know what I thought I was going to see. There were some scenes that were far more disturbingly graphic and violent than I had imagined, and some of the acting and make-up were, well.... less than convincing. Some moments felt like watching a community theatre production of "Stalag 17" at the Playboy mansion. Dyanne Thorne and her breasts do give a good performance, and the fact that it was recognizably shot on the set of "Hogan's Heroes" only adds to the creepy, seedy vibe of the film. I will say that it is indeed the best of the 70s S&M Nazi Exploitation flicks.
Beautiful and Moving  
12345678910
on June 10, 2004 - 5:15 PM PDT
  of Baraka (Special Edition) (1993)
5 out of 5 members found this review helpful
 


When I first saw Baraka with some friends of mine, we immediately started the DVD over as soon as it was finished and watch the whole thing again. I love this movie, although it may not be for everyone's taste as it can be a bit on the pretentious side. I'm not going to compare this film to Koyaanisqatsi, even though that's an easy comparison to make. This film focus far more on humanity, spirituality, and has some of the most moving footage I have ever seen. I disagree with the reviewer who said the soundtrack wasn't as good as Koyaanisqatsi. Philip Glass is amazing, but this soundtrack is far more organic sounding and compliments the footage very well. Some of the scenes can be quite slow- I mean really there is only so much footage of a rock you can take before you fall into a coma- but the film redeems itself in short order with something powerful and breathtaking around every corner. I highly recommend this film.
The Wizard of Ugh  
12345678910
on June 10, 2004 - 5:00 PM PDT
  of The Wizard of Oz (1925)
3 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Oh this is dreadful. No really, it is seriously dreadful. The woman reading the title cards has NO sense of the words she is saying, they seem to be random noises she is making, much like the hoots and clicks of a lower primate. The music is repetitive and annoying, the story is muddled and has NOTHING to do with ANY of the Oz books- aside from a few vague character resemblances, and as another reviewer mentioned, the very unfunny director made himself the star of the movie, not Dorothy. So bad, and not in a "so bad it's good" way. AVOID!
Wha??  
12345678910
on May 3, 2003 - 10:21 AM PDT
  of Possession (1981)
10 out of 11 members found this review helpful
 


There is a fine line between pretension and art. To be honest, I can't tell you which side of the line this film falls, but suffice it to say it walks that line like a Flying Wendella in a windstorm. The biggest reason I would recommend this film is for Isabelle Adjani's performance. After seeing her mostly in languid period pieces and art house favorites, it was stunning to see her give a performance that is this shockingly raw and primal. The story is your run of the mill "Boy meets Girl - Boy loses Girl - Girl shacks up with Giant Squid - Girl kills to keep Giant Squid alive" story. Still, it's an intriguing little piece of cinema.
Brilliant But Repulsive  
12345678910
on May 3, 2003 - 10:11 AM PDT
  of Audition (1999)
20 out of 22 members found this review helpful
 


I have seen many disturbing films in my time (and I do mean disturbing). This film was by far the most disturbing. It's success is largely due the amount of time the director takes to build pathos for the characters. By the time the climax comes you genuinely care about what is going to happen next, not only for the victim but for the perpetrator as well. I don't dare give you any details, because the shock of the ending would be diluted, however I will warn you that it is pretty high on the Ick Factor, and once you have seen it, you can't "unsee" it. Deeply disturbing and only for the brave.

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.