GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


filmnutt's reviews view profile

mesmerizing  
12345678910
on July 15, 2007 - 3:18 PM PDT
  of Transfixed (2001)
 


haunting and delicate, a story told as only a european can--skipping hollywood simplicity, sidestepping judgement of the sexual animal--

i loved this film--who we love whom we hate, a matter of chance, mystery and bewilderment. all explored and held up in affectionate confusion.

the cristalline beauty of robinson stevenin, an innocence forged from pain, his namorado, stephane metzger (aaah a perfect man of strength, beauty)

all well-cast--i had a problem with the delayed english captions though.

throughout the day's work the film has stayed with me, like the scent of a lover. a certain sign of beauty encountered.
skip this one!!  
12345678910
on June 9, 2007 - 4:26 PM PDT
  of Curious (2005)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


way too many fuzzy soft sex scenes, weak as water plot--zero dialogue, too many looooooooooong dumb slow-mo sex-y(? to whom??)

best to spend time reading ANYTHING else!
fleeting youth  
12345678910
on April 15, 2007 - 2:04 PM PDT
  of Borstal Boy (2000)
 


lovely, tender film of friendship and love--in the hands of the director and cast, this true story of a young straight boy and his undefined friendship with a gay buddy, both incarcerated, captures the delicacy and evanescence of youth.

not knowing that life and frienship can be taken away so easily, they take refuge in each other.

the film felt like a flame from a candle--a gentle warm light, but when extinguished, the cold dark is realized.
innocence, memory and love lost  
12345678910
on September 27, 2006 - 10:19 AM PDT
  of For a Lost Soldier (1993)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


a film only a european could make, this honest and touching film explores the territory of discovering one is gay, growing up and wanting a man to love, no matter the age difference. despite the vast generation separation,tenderness that is shown between the two is remarkably honest and innocent. prurient by nature, this lens is modest in its exposure of male nudity. the story of the american soldier who falls in love with a young boy, who desires the soldier equally, is very forthright in its telling. quite a piece of poetry which ends on a little unstable pedestal of uncertainty--it could go many ways. absolutely lovely and restrained.
keeps on giving  
12345678910
on June 8, 2006 - 2:16 PM PDT
  of Dot the I (2003)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


a film in a film in a film--cool! glad i knew nothing of the film, but from the start, the plot twists and turns and then reverses--a fantastic gymnastic--like an old film noir. loved it--the actress put me in mind of penelope cruz--not bad against gael bernal garcia--their faces held such light and truth in the film, hard to turn away.
sitting and waiting  
12345678910
on June 8, 2006 - 2:06 PM PDT
  of Possible Loves (2001)
 


wow--i seldom am confused by the storyline in a film, but this one had me scratching my head until i read the liner notes--what a terrific way to tell a story about and the openness of the future--i know no other country but brasil which could make such an effortless contemplation of the mysteries of one's own life to be made. and murilo benecio is a soulful tender-hearted seeker--slow motion on his face please.
director's cut  
12345678910
on January 4, 2006 - 11:38 PM PST
  of Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights (1992)
 


this is the clearest example, for me, of the negative impact a director can have upon a writer's work, an actor's work, an excellent filmscore, amazing locations and sets, great lighting; in this film the director is so misguided as to turn poetry into profanity.
The CIA before it went wrong  
12345678910
on November 26, 2005 - 3:51 PM PST
  of 13 Rue Madeleine (1946)
2 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


This film, in its semi-documentary appraoach tells the story and defends the idea of the CIA. The writers phrased it during the darkest period of World War II before the Allieds invaded occupied France. Its look at "la resistance" is interesting yet, as in a hollywood film, the good guys are shining angels while the "evildoers" are nasty and sinister. I really liked the story line, which is a cool plot device; although not a mystery, a genre i adore, the little turns of the story made it suspenseful, and as it was shot from a very intimate standpoint, it was not your typical war picture.
Without giving the story away, in the beginning of the film, the bright and clear-eyed young hero's purity and innocence contrasted with the enormous weight of the shadow of nazism across europe in this last century.
This film ranks up there now for me with "The Nuremburg Trials", "Das Boot", "Gallipoli" as powerful poetic views of war.

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.