GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


funnytoo's reviews view profile

page  1  2      prev | next
beautiful but difficult  
12345678910
on November 6, 2012 - 4:13 PM PST
  of Ordet (Criterion Collection) (1955)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


black & white, so fitting for the texture of the film. Stark contrasts can be achieved without much effort and yet the effects are mind-numbing. Did I cry? Of course I did. Will you? If you let this film run it's course you probably will too. Just reading the subtitles gave me a only a hint of the actual dialog but I don't think I missed much, neither will you, it's all written in the faces, gestures and the slow panning of the camera captures it all. If you're a fan of vintage Swedish Films, this Danish Jewel will sparkle for you.
Give it a 10 for Lake Tahoe  
12345678910
on October 15, 2012 - 11:58 AM PDT
  of The Deep End (2001)
 


& a 5 for the move. Unfortunately, the whole film is given away by the plot summary and truly nothing is left to the imagination. See it for the scenery, the handsome Goran and if you like Tilda, I guess it's on your list already anyway. She has perfected that tragically miserable persona & in this one she's at her best. As to the beautiful Lake, here is your chance to see what it is so famous for: clear enough to see a dead body, don't know at what depth, but still neat.
Perhaps noteworthy is the lovely Corvette and an extremely awkward gay sex scene, but, perhaps not.
early work of Roman Polanski  
12345678910
on October 7, 2012 - 1:44 PM PDT
  of Cul-de-sac (Criterion) (1966)
 


imagine, it's 1965/66 and you're a young polish filmaker. You want to make a movie about people who are just slightly off center. You're filming in black & white. Have finally found an amazing young french actress who just happens to be the sister of Catherine Deneuve. You're getting an aged american brute of a star to be your villain and he is not at all well. There is a true Star added to your cast.They've found an out of this world location. Your producers are climbing the walls because you're late & over budget.
So, now add all of this plus a ton more and you'll get: Cul-De-Sac!
Terribly claustrophobic: the 11th century castle location
Difficult actors: Donald Pleasence & Lionel Stander
Beauties: Françoise Dorléac and in a very minor role Jacqueline Bisset (billed as Jackie Bisset)
Filming without special effects yet have everything come together!
That is the magic of Roman Polanski. His film making is genius, his personal life tragic and messy, but, if we can separate the two, we are presented with the greatness a true artist can create.
a simple mind...  
12345678910
on August 3, 2012 - 10:41 AM PDT
  of A Simple Plan (1998)
 


..can not concoct this kind of Simple Plan! Billy Bob Thornton appears simple in his role as Jacob, living in the shadow of his brother Hank who is married to Sarah, played by Bridget Fonda (in a horrible wig) and as the story comes together, the intricate family dynamics play out in a plausible & subtle way, culminating in a not so believable conclusion. Still, it's fun to watch, the Birds are a definite bonus & if you've ever wanted to see someone fly across the room from a Rifle Shot, this is the movie for you!!
Robert Pastorelli is no Robbie Coltrane  
12345678910
on June 28, 2012 - 12:03 PM PDT
  of Cracker: True Romance (1997)
 


that said, this American 'Cracker' lacks a bit of bite but, nevertheless, is quite enjoyable if you have never seen the original British version, after you have, you'll see why I give it a 5
good Monks are hard to find  
12345678910
on June 13, 2012 - 9:18 AM PDT
  of Cadfael Series 1: One Corpse Too Many (1994)
 


well, not really!! But, most are un(chant)sung heros and I don't give them much thought, being that I live in my uncloistered little world. Then along came Cadfael, beautifully portrayed by Sir Derek George Jacobi, a world renown Shakespearian actor, fitting right in to the Benedictine World of the 1130s England, Shrewsbury Abbey to be precise.
This is the Series Premiere Episode and he looks radiant, cheruby faced and not much is revealed about him except hints of his Welsh origins & former life as a Soldier. The same goes for Hugh Beringar who makes his appearance as a cad only to be found out as a decent fellow and becomes Deputy Sheriff (in later episodes Sheriff) as well as a good friend to our sleuthing Monk.
Herbs, Flowers, Potions & Lotions, the beautiful Garden, Wine & Ale all emit a sense of timelessness, yet, the settings, Animals, clothes, People and actions transport us to a time none of us will ever experience and we could yearn for and at the same time are glad we don't have to live that life.
Spoiler Alert: this episode is difficult to watch, violence has been a part of life forever, still, seeing the bodies lined up in the courtyard is a chilling sight, but, on the other hand, some of the Ladies are not bad to look at ((-;
This series was shown on PBS & if it's not playing, by all means, rent it here.
You may also consider: Of Gods and Men, a 2010 french film
Romy, Romy, Romy  
12345678910
on June 6, 2012 - 8:23 AM PDT
  of Henri-Georges Clouzot's Inferno (2009)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I give it a 10 for 10 reasons:
1.) Romy Schneider
2.) Visual Attacks
3.) Romy Schneider
4.) informative Interviews
5.) Romy Schneider
6.) imaginative images before Special Effects
7.) Romy Schneider
8.) good fortune of finding the footage
9.) Romy Schneider
10.) did I mention Romy Schneider
Amazing Movie  
12345678910
on May 30, 2012 - 8:35 AM PDT
  of High and Low (Criterion Collection) (1962)
 


considering this is a 1962 Film, I couldn't help but be swept away by the Noir look & feel. Kurosawa obviously had been watching the French New Wave movies or was it the other way around??!! Either way, carefully crafted, beautifully acted (although a little stifling for todays taste) & the Nightclub scene & music must rank right up there with Uma & John in "Pulp Fiction" and our Bad Boy looks anything as good as Alain Delon in "Purple Noon"
This is a ""Don't Miss""
oh oui  
12345678910
on May 23, 2012 - 1:41 PM PDT
  of Masculin/Feminin (Criterion Collection) (1966)
 


yes, 107 minutes of b&w '60s Paris, splendid cars, lots of rain, cigarettes and oh so cute hair, insipid music and pouty lips, all leading up to: Brigitte Bardot!!!! Well worth the wait!!!!! Well, anyway for this diehard fan - her 1 minute screen time made me squeal oui oui oui.....
German Film - inadequate Subtitles  
12345678910
on May 12, 2012 - 7:39 AM PDT
  of M (Criterion Collection) (Special Edition) (1931)
 


probably one of the few 10s I'll ever grant on the merits of the film itself.
This German movie is so wordy that it really only packs the proper punch when understood in German. The nuances are totally lost with the inept Subtitles and therefore it's no wonder many non-german speaking viewers simply don't 'feel' the whole sub-culture of the Underworld. Peter Lorre (László Löwenstein) the Austrian born Actor & Comedian manages a near perfect Berliner Accent and the Screenwriter Thea von Harbou together with Fritz Lang & the uncredited Egon Jacobson have accomplished what seems impossible today: convey bone chilling suspense & physiological drama without the use of graphic blood and guts scenes.
Rent this, buy this, but by all means Don't Miss This!!
Brigitte Bardot.......'nuff said  
12345678910
on May 10, 2012 - 8:18 AM PDT
  of Contempt (Criterion Collection) (Bonus Disc) (1963)
 


an 8 for the film, a 10 for Bardot, a 5 for Palance - his lecherous grins, boorish attitudes & and all around bad acting would have been much better played by Dirk Bogart (with an american accent ;-)
Oh, I almost forgot: a 10 for scenery, a 10 for use of color & to make sure, a 10 for Brigitte, watch her walk, Runway Models have imitated her for decades.
wish I could speak Czech....  
12345678910
on April 28, 2012 - 8:25 PM PDT
  of The Shop on Main Street (Criterion Collection) (1965)
 


...and be able to catch all the nuances, translations always seem to leave too much glossed over. This is truly a heart wrenching movie & well deserving of it's Oscar. The performances of Josef Kroner and Ida Kaminska are at the center of this black & white drama and although we've seen the horror of the Nazi's dealing with the Jews before, this one will stay with you just like Lacombe, Lucien from 1974 has.
never mind the movie........  
12345678910
on March 10, 2012 - 11:48 PM PST
  of The Da Vinci Code (2006)
 


........read the book, listen to the Audio Book, unabridged of course!!
$5,500 spent on making THIS??  
12345678910
on December 16, 2011 - 12:29 PM PST
  of Far Too Gone
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


really??!! 2 minutes into this made me realize that some people will do anything, anytime, anywhere, to each other & with each other if it means that somehow they'll get their 15 minutes. This couldn't even make it on 'youtube' where really truly anything goes - I feel bad for Tori Amos that her name is associated with this boring piece of..........waste of $5,500
he can be my Confessor any day  
12345678910
on December 12, 2011 - 1:11 PM PST
  of Leon Morin, Priest (Criterion) (1961)
 


yes, really!! His ugly visage is gorgeous enough to make me want to confess even to sins I have yet to commit. The film is a little light on the surrounding story line of WWII, but more than makes up for that with the beautiful women, stunningly photographed in black & white who really are the centerpiece of the film - is lusting after a priest really that bad? This 1961 film made me cringe a little at the end with the little girl & the Father innocently interacting, fast forward to todays milieu of child abuse revelations.
Dirty Pretty Things  
12345678910
on December 6, 2011 - 1:45 PM PST
  of Dirty Pretty Things (2002)
 


should have been called: Frightened Desperate People - the only pretty thing in the film is the Hooker & there's not enough of her; the story is rather limp, ups, did I say that??!! Ahhm, the Hooker can help with that. 5 out of 10 because we need to see more of Sophie Okonedo
what a "Shame"   
12345678910
on December 5, 2011 - 3:28 PM PST
  of Shame (1968)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


that the film is in black & white, however, from the opening scenes all through to the bitter end, it became less and less important. Liv Ullman in her absolute prime is truly unmatched by anyone & Max Von Sydow superbly plays to her sultry yet intense portrayal of a young woman longing and losing - well worth watching.
'60s Camp  
12345678910
on November 14, 2011 - 7:40 AM PST
  of Blaze Starr Goes Nudist (1960)
0 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


a 10 for: bad filmmaking + bad Make-up + bad Hair + bad decor + bad dialog + bad bad car + bad beautiful locations + superbad smiles + supersuperbad wardrobe + bad delicious titties + bad lift & seperate bra + bad fantastic swim scenes + bad mesmerizingly amazing Lotus Dance + bad outrageous heiners in all shapes & sizes + bad bad famous Glove scene........& the verdict: you know you wanted to see it so sit back with your bad self & enjoy!!
bitter like old Coffee.......  
12345678910
on October 9, 2011 - 7:37 AM PDT
  of Coffee and Cigarettes (2003)
 


.........sweet like Godiva Chocolate. The dark kind, lingering on your tongue, enticing your brain to ask for more and more, this film is like that. I didn't want it to end, wished for more vignettes, imagined Jack Nicholson and Johnny Depp having a little chat over Coffee & Cigarettes, delicious. Oh well, the industry is all about sequels, Jim Jarmusch, are you listening?!
early Fassbinder  
12345678910
on September 27, 2011 - 12:31 PM PDT
  of Rio das Mortes (1971)
 


not his best work, (it was for German TV after all) but, the dance scene with him & Hanna to Elvis's Jail House Rock is priceless - see it here:http://www.wat.tv/video/rio-das-mortes-film-clip-46ezr_2flz3_.html
page  1  2      prev | next

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.