GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


underdog's reviews view profile

page  1  2  3  4  5      prev | next
Most enjoyable if fleeting journey  
12345678910
on April 30, 2011 - 8:29 PM PDT
  of Stephen Fry in America (Disc 1 of 2) (2008)
4 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


Stephen Fry is such an engaging actor and personality that it's not surprising that his trip across America is a fun ride. But as an American myself who thinks myself pretty knowledgeable I still found plenty of little surprises and gems on this trip. It's a pretty short attention show, he doesn't spend much time in each state, and a few states barely get the time of day (but really, what is there to say about Delaware?) I actually enjoyed the 2nd disc more, when he travels through Rocky Mtns and Great Plains, etc, he gets deeper at some things (Global warming, conservation, truck drivers, diets, Native American politics) that are quite compelling, while the first part feels a bit lighter. All in all, while it will leave you wanting more, it's definitely a journey worth taking.
Nice production all 'round  
12345678910
on January 2, 2011 - 10:21 PM PST
  of My Boy Jack (2007)
 


Based on story of Rudyard Kipling and his son Jack, who serves in WWI and then disappears, this British TV production is very well done. I was pleasantly surprised (don't know why, but I was), especially at Daniel "Harry Potter" Radcliffe's proving he can act away from Hogwarts, and the rest of the cast is lovely as well (Carey Mulligan, now quite well known for An Education and other films, David Haig, who also wrote it, as Kipling Sr., and even Kim Catrrall is good here). It's a moving story, not exactly Paths of Glory but very worthy war drama on a more intimate scale.
Better than reviews, if no classic.  
12345678910
on October 18, 2010 - 3:12 PM PDT
  of The Girl Who Played With Fire (2009)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I imagine the "Girl/Milennium" movies are more compelling, offer more surprises, to those who haven't read the book as they are streamlined adaptations with key things left out. (On other hand, if one hasn't read Millennium books, the films might be more confusing.) The first two films are competently made but adaptations suffer from a connect-the-dots feeling, rushing through all major plot points en route through story. Still, the second film, Girl Who Played With Fire, is more compelling than expected given tepid reviews. Of the three books in the trilogy this was my favorite, even if like all of them it was a bit overlong. This 2nd film makes the necessary cuts to the book but again left me feeling that they rushed through character development to "get it all in". The actors are very solid, capable enough to help that a little - especially the leads (Noomi Rapace continues to be terrific.)

Overall, the film is exciting enough to stand on its own as a thriller -- even if with some of the political elements of the book stripped bare the suspense elements feel more cliched at times - and in a way would work better if left to do just that. Cinematically it's more than competent, even if I can't help but think David Fincher's versions will be far more so.
Adventureland deserved a better fate.  
12345678910
on February 22, 2010 - 3:27 PM PST
  of Adventureland (2009)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Here's a case of a film that was totally mis-marketed. I'll admit, I finally saw Adventureland quite a bit late, after it had already moved theaters (and in my case, the fact that I was literally the only one in the theater(!) can probably more be blamed on that fact as well as that it was 4 o'clock on a weekday), but it's still easy to gauge how much it deserved a better fate. The marketing campaign sold it as a rather ribald, silly comedy, with comic actors like Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader, and from the director of Superbad (and the movie font and colors even look a little Superbad-ish, and Jesse Eisenberg even seems at first glance like Michael Cera's slightly older brother), and I guess you can't totally blame them, but the film -- although it definitely has its share of laughs -- isn't just a comedy or a coming of age story but goes deeper than that to create a wholly relatable universe of people that you care about. I even found the ending moving, unexpectedly so.

I'll admit I'm also a sucker for the soundtrack -- which was the soundtrack of my high school years (I was in h.s., just finishing it, in the year the film is set, 1987): from Minneapolis punk/indie rockers Husker Du to the more pop-ish, mellow new wave of Crowded House, this was my soundtrack too. While a cynic may say that the film doesn't necessarily had to have been set then, but it's not just the music that is of that time and place, it's the characters and more importantly the locale itself, the fading amusement park, that needed to go 2 decades back.

Both Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart are so incredibly appealing and empathetic young actors (sad to me that millions more will see her in Twilight than in this), as is the supporting cast, which includes Freaks and Geeks/Knocked Up's Martin Starr as his philosophizing, pipe-smoking, insecure friend, along with some relative newcomers, and Ryan Reynolds who makes what could have been a caricature of a role, the older guy cheating on his wife with girls who are way too young for him, into a 3-dimensional creation -- you even feel for him a bit, despite what a slime he is. The cast raises it to even another level.

Anyway, see it, and bring friends so you're not alone. (Reposting from my blog, underdog.typepad.com)
Mixed bag of laughs, with good commentary  
12345678910
on June 10, 2009 - 11:40 AM PDT
  of Step Brothers (Unrated) (2008)
 


As a big fan of both Reilly and Ferrell (Taladega Nights still makes me laugh every time I watch it, as dumb as it is), I guess I had higher hopes for this one than I probably should have. Truth be told the two of them are still hilarious here, but the narrative is kind of lazy -- even though there is something interesting about a story of two developmentally immature adults. There are also some cringe-inducing sophomoric moments, and some absolutely inspired comedy. I have a feeling it may be one of those that seems funnier to me the second time I see it with expectations lowered. Steenbergen and the always good Richard Jenkins try their best as the beleaguered parents but seem a little out of their element, having to take a back seat to the two goofballs.

The audio commentary by director McKay, Reilly and Ferrell is an attempt at a "musical commentary" that is sort of like the movie itself: sometimes inspired and hilarious, sometimes wholly unfunny and goes on too long. To be fair, they're improvising the songs as much as their non-singing commentary so you'd expect it to be hit or miss. There's also an odd choice of special guest (about 30 mins in): NBA star Baron Davis joins them for awhile, but their conversation turns out surprisingly amusing. Anyway, that is worth listening during any parts of the film in which you find yourself bored.
A real gem.  
12345678910
on December 27, 2008 - 9:17 PM PST
  of Blame It on Fidel (2006)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


One of 07's better and more overlooked films still holds up for me. The lead performance by the young actress is superb and the rest of the cast is uniformly excellent as well, but it's Julie Gavras sensitive direction and storytelling, from a child's POV, that really makes this a near-classic. Never gets too didactic or critical, it just is what it is -- the parents behave selfishly at times, but as they admit, they make mistakes, everyone does. The film beautifully captures the energy and upheaval of the early 70s on a grander scale and on a smaller scale the angst of coming into one's own. Empathetic, often even quite funny, and never less than fully human, Blame It on Fidel is a delight.
Die Hard v4.0, Slam, Bang, Thank You McClain.  
12345678910
on November 11, 2008 - 11:53 PM PST
  of Live Free or Die Hard (Unrated) (2007)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Make no bones about it -- this is as at times absurd as you'd expect from a Die Hard movie, with some individual moments that will leave you both shaking your head and laughing, when you aren't just breathless. On the other hand, the computer hacker plot is just an exaggeration from something that is pretty plausible (it's a stretch but it's based on a non-fiction article) and even frightening to think about, as too many of our systems and infrastructures are now computerized. Chaos could ensue. Maybe not quite to this level.

But never mind all that, this is the best of the Die Hard sequels, non-stop action, extremely suspenseful, with Willis' beleaguered McClain and Justin Long's terrified hacker a good pairing. Some of the action set-pieces are incredible, boasting some of the better car (and helicopter) chases you've seen in awhile. One stunt in particular, in a tunnel, is astonishing (okay, another involving a fighter jet and a big rig is beyond ridiculous). And there's the requisite amount of McClain/Willis wisecracks. As over the top action movies go, this is one of the better ones, and a good supporting cast, including Deadwood's Timothy Olyphant as the head tech-terrorist and Maggie Q as his assistant, help, too. See it and your heart rate will increase at least a little.

The DVD also offers up an engaging commentary with Willis and director Len Wiseman.
Film was put through a tension-extraction process.  
12345678910
on November 3, 2008 - 11:59 AM PST
  of Mystery Science Theater 3000 (20th Anniversary): Laserblast (1978)
 


Yes, I believe it was Crow T Robot (or was it Servo) who said something to that effect while sitting through this execrable, excremental sci-fi movie from the late 70s. And fortunately the MST3K gang are in good form here, nailing everything that went awry (which is everything) in this tale of a small desert town teenager (who looks like he's about 30) and comes upon a special alien blaster gun and it turns him into a Jekyll and Hyde (with awful green makeup provided to show you the transformation). Much mayhem ensues. Actually, very little mayhem ensues, but hilarity does -- Mike and the 'bots help us get through the slow stretches and the incomprehensibility. There are also hilarious moments when the movie presents us with the aliens, using cheap stop-motion animation, that liven things up even without commentary (they look like Yertle the Tertle, as the gang point out). And why Roddy McDowell (and Keenan Wynn) agreed to be in this movie are beyond me, but you'll be glad they did!
Dark, Un-PC and brave.   
12345678910
on June 30, 2008 - 4:20 PM PDT
  of Rescue Me: Season 1 (disc 1 of 3) (2004)
 


A risk-taking, sometimes borderline offensive (or at least decidedly un-PC) series about NYC firefighters may not be The Wire in terms of dramatic consistency and brilliance, but it reaches that level at times, and is certainly one of the bravest American TV shows in some time. That these characters are so flawed is decidedly realistic, but be forewarned that means they are often homophobic, sexist, ribald, self-centered pricks. But they are multi-dimensional, just as often likable, believable, earnest. A main theme in season 1 is actually homophobia - an incident with the police captain, who is involved in gay bashing and whose son is also gay and also a firefighter - and it is dealt with with the right amount of rough edges. It will make you uncomfortable, but it goes places I don't recall another American show going. But the show is also often uproariously, darkly funny (I particularly recommend the third episode on Disc 2) and even playful. It even is brave enough to mock people who worship the NYFD post 9-11. And while post 9-11 is the spine on which most of the show rests, Rescue Me is really a show about masculinity.

Its main character, like the other firefighters depicted here a survivor of the fall of the twin towers who lost people close to him, sees dead people, as it were - and while this element made worried about where this was going it is handled with such care and empathy it actually starts to seem believable that he lives with ghosts.

There are a few subplots that don't quite work, either ending abruptly or going on too long, but in general the show is never less than riveting - and occasionally jaw-dropping, shocking. Rescue Me has Denis Leary's thumbprints all over it: un-PC, funny, real, in your face, button-pushing stuff.

It's uneven but often unforgettable. And the next season is even better.
Underrated kiddie spookfest  
12345678910
on February 28, 2008 - 8:09 PM PST
  of Monster House (2006)
3 out of 3 members found this review helpful
 


Young directors Kenan and Hyman were hired right out of film school for this fun frightfest and fare well; if it's no Pixar classic, it comes about as close to that studio's CGI successes as any non-Pixar film has done. It's odd at times, has a few scenes that are too scary for younger kids, and have parts closer to the end where it begins to overstay its welcome. All that may have contributed to why it wasn't a box office bonanza (though no dud either). But excellent child characterizations, great voice acting, an unpretentious sense of humor and a darned good yarn at the center make it well above average. The Halloween 1980s setting warmed my heart, too. It's no classic, but deserves a better fate than it received. Rent it on Halloween: Kids will dig it and be properly creeped out.
A joy for bookworms, plus a bonus  
12345678910
on December 5, 2007 - 10:05 PM PST
  of The Stone Reader (2002)
 


I echo Talltale's comments on this documentary, it's incredibly rewarding even if at first I worried about how involved in the film Moskowitz placed himself, but it all quickly makes sense. It's a personal obsession, which becomes a fascinating mystery about what happens to a writer who creates one great work and then disappears, as if a quickly flickering flame that then bursts into light, before being extinguished. What's most touching is Mossman's appearance and story.

On that subject, if you're as involved in his story as I became, you'll also want to check out the audio commentary here, which features the reclusive author and the filmmaker chatting about the film and the people in it, and more about himself; it's quite revealing and he's amazingly articulate for someone so shy and modest and out of this world for 30 years. And there's a happy ending of sorts here, too.

Any book junkie will not want to miss this one.
Depressingly real dark comedy about why most network TV stinks. Great commentary, too.  
12345678910
on October 8, 2007 - 11:09 PM PDT
  of The TV Set (2006)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


If the story's a bit insider-ish and thin, it comes fairly close to being The Player for TV. Great performances by Duchovny (as writer whose vision is wholly compromised), Weaver (as aggressive, opinionated and smartly idiotic exec) and the rest of the cast, and director Jake Kasdan clearly knows this terrain. He directed episodes of the single-season cult favorite Freaks and Geeks, among other things. Even Justine Bateman, making like her brother Jason and attempting a neat little comeback, is solid as Duchovny's very pregnant wife. If it doesn't ultimately pack a wallop, the film at least throws some mean punches en route to the bittersweet ending. Quietly funny stuff.

Also check out the two (!) commentary tracks with Kasdan and the cast on one, and Kasdan and director Judd Apatow (also of Freaks and Geeks) on the other - both roundly entertaining. Probably overkill to listen to them both all the way through, but worth checking into.

Ripping good fun  
12345678910
on August 9, 2007 - 11:01 PM PDT
  of The Complete Ripping Yarns (Disc 1 of 2) (1976)
 


While this compilation of episodes from the Michael Palin-Terry Jones show is, as you'd expect, a bit uneven, and for Monty Python fans looking for a similar gag-and-laugh filled good time may be disappointed at first, the shows are actually quite clever and ripping good fun. Each disc contains at least several gems - my favorites of the lot are Escape from Stalag Luft 112B (a spot-on satire of POW escape movies), The Curse of the Claw, and the hilarious Whinfrey's Last Case (on disc 2), but they're all worth a viewing. Palin stars in each episode as various characters satirizing British (arche)types, usually befuddled or put upon in some way. Each story seems perfectly straightfaced at first (usually) but quickly becomes absurdist. It helps having some awareness of the characters and stories being parodied - Anglophiles will particularly enjoy that aspect of it - but either way the best of them should be amusing to anyone. A disc 2 story about a man obsessed with a local, and rather pathetic, football (soccer) team will probably appeal mostly to football fans but it's a sweet tale with a fairly rousing ending (and also features a brief, amusing cameo by a former Pythoner).

The extras include a bit of commentary from Palin and Jones (mostly Palin) and a fun self-biography by/about Michael Palin, who revisits his childhood haunts and friends. Nothing amazing, but worthwhile for Palin fans.
Not Zach's best...  
12345678910
on May 21, 2007 - 11:44 AM PDT
  of Zach Galifianakis: Live at the Purple Onion (2005)
1 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


I'm a big fan of Zach Galifianakis' work, his ideas, his sense of humor and of comedy exploration, but this concert film is a bit of a disappointment. He seems to be doing a bit too much experimentation - which can be good - but he's not quite Andy Kaufman here, either. Some of the comedy seems aimless, rambling, he flubs it a few times. Would have been nice to have him go through a few more "drafts" before doing a recording of it. That said, there are some great moments here when he really gets rolling, where you can see how brilliant he can be. There's also a running bit where he plays his "brother," as a sort of bumpkin, in a series of interviews, which is funny for a little while but gets a little old. He's so good at doing various voices and characters that it would have been nice to see him mix it up a bit.

Galifianakis is a peer of Patton Oswalt - you might have seen him in the Comedians of Comedy tour or the subsequent cable show and documentary; if so, you know what he can do. He can be out there but still keep the audience engaged. If you're a fan, you should definitely still check this out, as there are a number of good moments, but again, for the uninitiated, I'd start with Comedians of Comedy - where he's also quite funny in the "real life" segments away from the stage - or see him live.
Things you can do instead of watching this.  
12345678910
on January 4, 2007 - 3:53 PM PST
  of Date Movie (2006)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


I can't add much to Talltale's accurate review of this lazy piece of cinematic excrement, but here are just a few suggestions for things that you can do with your 90 minutes that would be a much better, and less painful (jabbing into your ear canal with a chopstick would fall under that category), use of your time:
- Watch C-Span...without doing anything else at the same time!
- Catch tadpoles and set them free
- Bake enough cookies to feed everyone on your block
- Write a short story based on a childhood incident
- Donate clothing to your local homeless shelter
- Watch a film by Park Chan-Wook and pause it to sketch various shots in a sketchbook
- Take a walk in the park
- Create a film and discussion group for friends and acquaintances and make plans to watch your first film together; (Note: It should not be anything called "Date Movie")

- Dream up about 1,000 other movie ideas that would be far more interesting and less derivative than "Date Movie"
Oh, well.  
12345678910
on January 3, 2007 - 10:58 AM PST
  of The Oh in Ohio (2006)
2 out of 4 members found this review helpful
 


I wanted to like the indie comedy "Oh in Ohio," I really did. And there is quite a bit to recommend about it: in particular, Parker Posey, who is wonderfully endearing here as a woman struggling to open herself up sexually while stuck in a frustrating marriage; Danny DeVito, too, is quite likeable here as the pool salesman who has a thing for her; and there are several laugh out loud scenes. But the script could have benefited from several more drafts - it constantly loses focus, moving over to the story of Posey's estranged husband Paul Rudd (whom I always like, but his character here is such a heel, and not in a realistic, well-shaded way) and his wayward romance with a precocious student. The portrayal of a teacher-student romance is enervating and unbelieveable and even worse, takes us away from Posey too often. Characters in this film do contrived things and ultimately you'll stop caring about any of them. It's too bad, too, because it's also nice to see an American film so open and playful about sexuality and between that, the fact that it's set somewhere we rarely see in films - Ohio, and Posey's presence, I wanted to give this a thumb's up. But I was too busy wanting to strangle the filmmakers - this is their first film, and their youth shows in the wrong ways, because too often the characters other than Posey's do not behave in any believable, real way. Oh... well.
A must for soccer fans  
12345678910
on October 2, 2006 - 12:40 PM PDT
  of Once in a Lifetime (2006)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Exceedingly well-made documentary - if anything, a little too polished - about the one famous, dominant team in American pro soccer history, the New York Cosmos. That team, full of European and Latin all stars (in addition to plenty of Americans) was put together by American media moguls, who saw the opportunity to turn the American public in its favor. This film does a fine job giving the history leading up to this watershed moment in sports (including America's one previous foray into world soccer headlines - making the 1964 Cup finals vs. England), the formation of the team itself in the 1970s - which many people thought was destined to be a disaster, and the team (and league)'s ultimate flameout. Using a mix of catchy music of the era, fun footage and interviews new and old, Once in a Lifetime is never less than engaging. Besides being a chronicle of a sports team, it's also a still-relevant look at America's obsession with celebrities.

While it never fully makes the case for the overall importance the filmmakers think the Cosmos had, and feels a bit rushed at times, Once in a Lifetime is still a must for any soccer fan. I grew up both a soccer fan and a player as a kid, just barely old enough to remember the NASL - and even then, I was enthralled by the play and personalities of this all-star team, and wanted nothing less than to someday be one of them. (I even played for a kid's team called the Cosmos. We weren't quite as good.) Seeing this film brought back one of the first reasons I became enchanted with the game. While the team's existence was, alas, only fleeting, watching this makes one hopeful that such a team could exist again. (My childhood memories also made me a little frustrated that the film seems to discount the fact that youth soccer was already pretty huge by the time that the Cosmos and the league were in existence.)

The one other real flaw of the film isn't the fault of the filmmakers: Pele - the biggest name and most spectacular on the Cosmos and arguably the most famous soccer player in history - was not interviewed for it. His missing presence there is sorely felt, though the film does include plenty of archival footage. But the stars of the film are the Cosmos as a whole - with the flamboyant (and generally disliked) Giorgio Chinaglia and the skillful Franz Beckenbauer also prominent in the film - and the beautiful game itself. The film's a fun romp.

The DVD also includes a talky, gushy salute to Pele and, more of a plus for hardcore fans, highlights of the TV broadcasts of several NASL championship games featuring the Cosmos.
For Stand-Up Comedy Historians   
12345678910
on August 22, 2006 - 10:49 PM PDT
  of When Stand Up Stood Out (2005)
2 out of 2 members found this review helpful
 


Fairly well made documentary by comedian Fran Solomita focuses on the late 70's to 1980s period genesis for stand-up comedy, and in particular, his pals from Boston. While the New York and San Francisco stand-up scenes of the same period were equally important (and due to my own geographical bias, the latter would have been most interesting to me), Solomita's focus exclusively on Boston comedy might not strike everyone as the most compelling subject for a documentary - but many great comics did begin there, including deadpan Steven Wright, one of the better comics of the last 20 years, Bobcat Goldthwait and Denis Leary (and Kevin Meany, alternatively inspired and annoying) - that there's enough material here that fans of stand-up interested in the history will find it moderately engaging.

Still, just as Seinfeld is a show about nothing, this is essentially a documentary about very little, and without much in the way of narrative drive it ends up a rather forgettable affair.

On the other hand, fans of Janeane Garofalo, Leary, Wright, Colin Quinn and the others will enjoy the interviews with them mixed in with some priceless old comedy footage (of varying quality - the oldest of it is occasionally unwatchable), along with Wright's first appearance on the Tonight Show - which was a "landmark" moment for Boston comedians. Then there's the inevitable drug discussion, and the challenges of being a poor comedian trying to break in, and so on.

This is a watchable doc, pleasant time-filler with some very amusing anecdotes told by comedians about each other and some good stand-up moments - many more of those would have made this better, though the bonus section does offer more stand-up. The film is mostly worth a watch for stand-up junkies (and Bostonians). Others will probably be bored through much of it.
Early Woody and a Late 60s Frolic  
12345678910
on August 4, 2006 - 10:18 PM PDT
  of What's New Pussycat? (1965)
 


While this romantic comedy has certainly dated quite overtly, it's still enjoyable if you're in a silly mood (or, probably even more so if you're stoned). Besides Peter Sellers (man of a thousand personalities) doing some amusing schtick - dig those glasses and the Prince Valiant hair - as a psychotherapist looking for love in all the wrong places (or ways), we have Peter O'Toole charming his way across the screen as a man trying to get over his philandering ways, and most memorably, in a smaller role, Woody Allen before he'd fully honed his on-screen nebbishy persona. I swear I've heard a few of Woody's lines here repeated in a future movie - perhaps not surprising, since he also wrote the script. And, of course, the film, with it's "Man Who Loved Women" storyline, is full of beautiful women (including Ursula Andress, hubba hubba), but that aspect of the film has a bit of a misogynstic feel to it. The actresses are certainly appealing, though - particularly the underrated Romy Schneider.

There's also a silly gag involving Tolouse Latrec and other painters that I won't spoil but it should invoke a chuckle or two, and one hilarious scene with Allen and Sellers (with the latter trying to commit suicide) only hints at what might have been - if only this had been more about the two of them.. Burt Bacharach's famous soundtrack remains catchy and the sixties flavor is a hoot. It's also fun to see actors like O'Toole reciting very Allen-esque dialogue. But Allen was still clearly honing his craft, and the film has Clive Donner as director where it could have used Richard Lester. The fluffy, giggly Pussycat is best viewed as an amusing relic or curio, both of the period and for many of the performers involved.

"Use your imagination": There's great riffing in the painful Monster a Go Go  
12345678910
on May 28, 2006 - 8:40 PM PDT
  of Mystery Science Theater 3000: Monster A-Go Go (1993)
1 out of 1 members found this review helpful
 


Herschell Gordon Lewis' and Bill Rebane's Monster a-Go Go may be one of the most disappointingly titled films in the Mystery Science Theater library, as there's hardly much of a monster (he's played by Henry Hite, looking like a disfigured Lurch from the Addams Family), and even less "a-go-go." The voice-over heavy film is an ultra-low-budget 60s sci-fi with too much science and not enough fiction, in which the scant budget doesn't allow for more than a few glimpses of the monster (as Crow T Robot points out in a mock-narrator voice at one point, "It might have been nice to see that scene with the monster, but use your imagination, it was true horror!") and there's not quite enough scenes with scantily clad and terrified teenagers. However, it's prime material for Joel and the 'bots, and they won't let you down - their riffing here is tops, at times screamingly funny. While it won't always get you through most tedious scenes (Joel and Tom do fake falling asleep at one point), for the most part they're right on the money throughout.

And they can't refrain from sincerely chuckling when, in one scene, a telephone ring sound is provided by an actor going "Brrring" (I kid you not). They don't miss that and they don't miss much else in what is a good ol' bad time at the movies. And dig that bizarre, abrupt ending, in which we're told none of this really happened. If only! But then we would be deprived of one of MST's finer efforts.

Also: as a bonus, this episode begins with the delightfully terrible short film, "Circus on Ice" - which is just what it sounds like. The SOL crew have fun with this ephemeral weirdness (right down to the dramatic re-enactment of the death of a fawn... on ice!)
page  1  2  3  4  5      prev | next

about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.