GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


Baise Moi back to product details

Porn maybe: this violence too much
12345678910
written by HarryHardy August 19, 2005 - 11:44 AM PDT
4 out of 5 members found this review helpful
The porn might have been tolerable if it weren't for the seeming unending senseless violence. I have a high tolerance for both but this film was over the top on the violence scale. Especially when the motivations cloudy.

Lotta Porn, Lotta Blood
12345678910
written by talltale February 17, 2005 - 1:44 PM PST
7 out of 7 members found this review helpful
I passed on BAISE-MOI when the film first surfaced, and again when it hit the video market. But after learning of the suicide of one of its stars Karen Bach (or Karen Lancaume, as she is sometimes credited), I decided to take a look. As moviemaking, this seems to me as screwed up as the lives of its two women characters. I can see why some people perceive it as a feminist screed/diatribe or as broadside against the patriarchal society. Or as anti-rape, anti-permissive society, anti-just-about-everything. But so what? There is little consistency to the characters here, and the result is closer to pornography (both sexual and violent) than anything else. The men, if they represent a cross-section of us guys, are amazingly well-endowed, and the two women possess good bodies (of the ample and not-so varieties) which they display with abandon and gusto. While I enjoy porn now and again, I prefer mine with less violence, thank you.


Boooooring....
12345678910
written by ddennis January 17, 2005 - 6:09 PM PST
6 out of 9 members found this review helpful
As porn, it's D-grade. As a 'women on a rampage' flick, it's C-grade. Violent? Sure, but only in such a fake way that tubs-o-blood slasher-flicks seem artistic by comparison. If you've seen explicit sex and violence before, you've seen all this movie has to offer because the failure of the audience to emotionally connect with the characters leaves nothing else.

Disturbing crime spree flick challenges assumptions
12345678910
written by CHutchings January 4, 2005 - 4:36 AM PST
5 out of 6 members found this review helpful
I'd heard much about this French punk classic, but it didn't prepare me for the sensory onslaught of the real thing. This is NOT a Thelma and Louise type movie. Filled with rage and nihilism, it's a groin kick on many levels. Not for everyone, (or even most) but it puts a face on the despair many people are feeling, though it did seem a bit sensationlalistic and the famed hardcore moments didn't add as much as you might suppose.

You have got to see this Movie!
12345678910
written by defanti March 9, 2004 - 4:38 PM PST
0 out of 12 members found this review helpful
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. If you like Cult movies, you have got to see this! If you don't have an open mind, then don't bother. Blessed Be.

Shocking, sure, but little substance
12345678910
written by marazanvose October 7, 2003 - 7:06 AM PDT
8 out of 10 members found this review helpful
This movie is marketing as being so shocking, and it is at first, as there's a graphic rape scene which is disturbing but then the film settles into half-porn/half bad horror movie complete with bad blood effects. The plot too seems nebulous at best - these two women are off on a killing spree, but I'm not exactly sure why. After the first interesting 20 minutes, it settles into unneccesary sex scene (and by sex scene, I don't mean Hollywood hide everything style, I mean show everything) followed by unncessary killing.

It's an interesting movie to watch, but don't expect something really deep.

Porn? Alot. Plot? Not.
12345678910
written by WAkers January 7, 2003 - 1:32 PM PST
14 out of 15 members found this review helpful
Baise Moi (Rape Me) is a French film featuring porn stars in the lead roles that was shot on digital video.

Close-ups of penetration and oral sex, graphic depictions of rape, and even a menstrual blood shot are depicted in this twisted road picture that's basically Thelma and Louise on methamphetimines -- without the preachy moral stuff and the mushy ending.

The fact that it was made by 2 women shocks a lot of people, and once you've seen the film, you may feel the same way. But don't forget that one of them was a former prostitute and the other a former porn star -- the girls next door, they aren't.

I think it's worth the rental, at least just to see that hardcore sex can work in the context of a feature film -- as long as it's handled right. I'm not sure that it was here (the sex seems cheap and exploitative) but it's definitely an interesting piece of work . . . and certainly fun to put on when your grandparents come over for a visit.

One word- Wow.
12345678910
written by RMeyers December 26, 2002 - 4:13 PM PST
5 out of 9 members found this review helpful
Racier than I thought, more violent than I thought, and just plain more than I thought. I would like to have atleast had the option for dubbing, rather than sub-titles. After seeing this movie and comparing it with ANYTHING I have ever seen in an American theater, I don't ever want to hear a disparaging word about sex or violence on our silver screens from anybody! Take "Basic Instinct" and get rid of all inhibitions, that's the closest I can come to describing this movie. Wow.

12345678910

(Average 5.14)
293 Votes
add to list New List


about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.