GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


Audition back to product details

terribly effective slow-burner
12345678910
written by ironswallow August 2, 2005 - 10:13 AM PDT
5 out of 5 members found this review helpful
It's true that this isn't a film for everyone, but not just because of the gore; the first hour or so is very slow and calculated. If you have a bit of patience and pay attention during this instead of waiting anxiously for a mindless torture sequence, you'll at least be impressed by the creativity by which the themes in this film are explored: honesty, guilt, the subjugation of women in japanese society, power, etc. I liked the pacing of the film more than other reviewers here, but be aware of your tolerance for slow-burners before renting this film.

Engaging, and disturbing
12345678910
written by zeroplusone July 22, 2005 - 7:13 AM PDT
5 out of 5 members found this review helpful
I gave this film extra points because it lived up to my expectations, and was not just some dull movie that people think is "so cool" just because it's a Japanese horror movie. This film is truly disturbing, not just because of the climax, but because of the context in which it takes place. After it's all over you'll be left with lots to think about. Is this film presenting a cynical misogynistic (and perhaps even satirical) view of relationships? Is it a metaphor for the risks we take when opening up to someone? Or could it also be seen as a moral lesson about trust and honesty?

definitely love/hate
12345678910
written by LWarren November 12, 2004 - 2:25 PM PST
2 out of 9 members found this review helpful
We were really looking forward to this based on the reviews, but found the first part interminably slow and none of the characters particularly likeable. Then it got nasty and we were about to give up and turn it off when my husband fainted.

So one thumb down and one entire body on the floor from us. If you're one of those people who can't wear contacts because you can't bear the thought of things in your eyes...you should definitely skip this one.

Disterbing But Awesome
12345678910
written by sisterhoney October 13, 2004 - 12:21 PM PDT
1 out of 6 members found this review helpful
This movie was the start of my new found fondness for Japanese horror. A friend had borrowed this flick from another, and I had never heard anything about it. No other reviews. I Thought It was great, there are very few smart horror films out there, but this is one to add to the list.
Plus a Female killer you can't beat that!

I did of course run out to rent Ichi the Killer which is another classic by Milke. Loved It!

Why I don't date via Internet
12345678910
written by MSmear September 1, 2004 - 4:57 PM PDT
2 out of 10 members found this review helpful
You just never know!

Maybe
12345678910
written by kohnfused1 May 26, 2004 - 4:09 PM PDT
3 out of 6 members found this review helpful
I rented this movie in the hopes of immersing myself in Takashi Miike?s films. From all the reviews I?ve read on GC, I found his work to be interesting, to say the least. I was intrigued by all the extremes people would classify his work, so I figured, ?why don?t I find out for myself?? About a week or two ago I had seen ?Visitor Q? and was totally blown away. His brash, no-holds barred, unrelenting brutality of cinematic norms was, in a word, refreshing. He broke all the rules, and yet, still had a point to make (whether viewers realized it or not). Now that?s something of a rarity these days. With that said, I quickly did a search for Takashi Miike?s films and rented almost his entire repertoire. Along came ?Audition?. Again, this is one of his films that people either loved or hated. No ?tweeners?. Now I know why. Yes, it does start off slow. Yes, he is building back story, thus establishing the viewer?s connection with the characters. Yes, his use of flashbacks was very well done and timely placed (almost worthy of Tarantino himself). However, I do have one gripe about this movie. It was too long. There were mundane scenes and conversations that didn?t need to be addressed but were included anyway. Frankly, I thought a lot of it could have been just suggested (and didn?t need to be delved into), but I guess he really wanted to make his point (holding your hands, all the while). Without those, this movie would have probably been shaved to an hour and forty-five, if not, ninety minutes. It would have made the viewing more palatable and engaging. I guess what I?m trying to say is that the pacing, to me, was really off. However, I still enjoyed the movie for its entertainment value as a whole. I guess I can be a classified as a ?tweener? when it comes to this film.

Don't Pass on This One!
12345678910
written by villain April 11, 2004 - 9:38 PM PDT
4 out of 7 members found this review helpful
First off, be patient with the first thirty minutes or so because Takashi Miike does a fantastic job developing the characters. So it may seem slow to some. But after that it's all systems go! Chaos and mayhem is unleashed in such a sick but beautiful way. Takashi Miike is so great at communicating horror, fear, and violence in a non-traditional manner.

Auditon is pure quality. A must see for any Japanese movie fans....or any movie buffs for that matter.


If you can sit through this film its good.
12345678910
written by jeffsui January 19, 2004 - 8:39 AM PST
2 out of 8 members found this review helpful
I saw Ichi The killer which was pretty sweet and a bunch of reviews said audition was a better movie. Well in my opinion this isnt the case. I guess from an "artistic" point of view maybe its a better movie but its VERY slow. So in that aspect I didnt like it. If you are more artsy than myself you'd probably really like this movie. Just was too slow for my MTV generation tastes.

Brilliant But Repulsive
12345678910
written by evilcupcakes May 3, 2003 - 10:11 AM PDT
20 out of 22 members found this review helpful
I have seen many disturbing films in my time (and I do mean disturbing). This film was by far the most disturbing. It's success is largely due the amount of time the director takes to build pathos for the characters. By the time the climax comes you genuinely care about what is going to happen next, not only for the victim but for the perpetrator as well. I don't dare give you any details, because the shock of the ending would be diluted, however I will warn you that it is pretty high on the Ick Factor, and once you have seen it, you can't "unsee" it. Deeply disturbing and only for the brave.

12345678910

(Average 7.30)
712 Votes
add to list New List
related lists


about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.