GREEN CINE Already a member? login
 Your cart
Help
Advanced Search
- Genres
+ Action
+ Adult
+ Adventure
+ Animation
+ Anime
+ Classics
+ Comedies
+ Comic Books
+ Crime
  Criterion Collection
+ Cult
+ Documentary
+ Drama
+ Erotica
+ Espionage
  Experimental/Avant-Garde
+ Fantasy
+ Film Noir
+ Foreign
+ Gay & Lesbian
  HD (High Def)
+ Horror
+ Independent
+ Kids
+ Martial Arts
+ Music
+ Musicals
  Pre-Code
+ Quest
+ Science Fiction
  Serials
+ Silent
+ Sports
+ Suspense/Thriller
  Sword & Sandal
+ Television
+ War
+ Westerns


Dead Man back to product details

Brilliance wraped up in silence.
12345678910
written by speakreflection October 4, 2006 - 2:27 PM PDT
4 out of 4 members found this review helpful
I couldn't write a complete review in just 1000 words. I would also be repeating a lot of the words from the previous reviews.
This movie with a plot that can only be tasted not seen is what every filmmaker should make. Not a whole series of them, but at least one film that follows a meaning not just given to the masses.
Johnny Depp is brilliant in his naive nature and later on his awakening. With Gary Farmer leading him to a restful place, this black and white film bleeds color all over the soul.
The soundtrack with Neil Young playing ever so eloquently breathes more life into a already brimming film.
Thank you Mr Jarmusch.

Wise, somber, beautifully done
12345678910
written by MGrau January 3, 2005 - 11:42 PM PST
10 out of 10 members found this review helpful
A movie where you know from the beginnning that the protagonist will die is not perhaps the most entertaining or enticing. But the story is told in such beautiful, deadpan, style, mixing the tragedy of human existence and cruelty with forms of love and care for the dying that are amazing. The odd bonds between the Depp character and the Native American who picks him up and takes care of him are both funny and movingly spiritual. I highly recommend it. This is powwow highway set in black and white and a 150 yrs. back.

Metaphysical western
12345678910
written by MConlon August 19, 2003 - 10:58 AM PDT
6 out of 10 members found this review helpful
I found this on one of GreenCine's lists, saying of the movie, "Only Jim Jarmusch would attempt to make a black and white metaphysical western...." Technically the "black and white" part makes this true, but Alejandro Jodorowski did one first, in color, in the 70s. "El Topo," oddly missing from GC's selection (er... due, I'm told, to the fact that legal versions are not available in DVD yet, no fault of GC, who would have it if they could...), is a metaphysical western on a much grander and stranger scale. Track down this true cult classic for a rare treat. Dead Man is good, El Topo is better.

soul finding.. noir..
12345678910
written by psychodrama311 July 9, 2003 - 12:46 AM PDT
6 out of 6 members found this review helpful
always reading about "dead man" didn't prepare me for the insanity that followed from watching it. i'm in complete understanding that this movie isn't for everyone. it's slow. it's hardly easy to follow. and the characters are brief and hard to find significance with.. minus a few key players. but this movie is about the soul. the trip you take to find yourself. it's a man's journey through the wilderness.. coming out on the other side.. completely different. it's a beautiful movie full of everything noone wants anymore. a open ended question with too many answers.

I didn't even finish this movie
12345678910
written by teardownthewall May 15, 2003 - 6:29 PM PDT
5 out of 22 members found this review helpful
I was bored before the opening sequence was even finished. Dunno if there were problems in the editing room, but how many shots did we need to see of the train's wheels on the track? HE'S ON A TRAIN, WE GET IT. Things began to pick up when the dialogue kicked in and I could begin deciphering the plot. But I was disappointed almost immediately to see such a lackluster job by Crispin Glover. The movie slogged on for another half hour. What finally put me over the edge was the ridiculous dialogue the character of Nobody was given. It seemed nearly insulting, like a strange hybrid of the 1950's view of the "traditional Indian's" poor grammar and some sappy pseudo-spritual claptrap. It's worth noting that I am a big fan of independant film AND Johnny Depp, and still couldn't handle it. Rent with caution.

Great cinamatography
12345678910
written by ramraj19 February 4, 2003 - 7:07 AM PST
5 out of 6 members found this review helpful
One of the best cinamatograpy I've seen in a film. I wish I had seen this movie on the big screen. Robby Muller has done it again.

Confounding! Hilarious!
12345678910
written by dsutton November 19, 2002 - 2:23 PM PST
6 out of 9 members found this review helpful
I always love how single word excerpts from reviews can be printed with exclamation points after them! Once I got into the rythym (or is it writhe'em) of this film I loved it. Iggy and Billy Bob are worth the time it takes to see it. Try having a super-straight friend over for "A Western" and watch the facial expressions!

Magnetic Nobody
12345678910
written by tboot June 26, 2002 - 5:38 PM PDT
18 out of 18 members found this review helpful
Ever since the splendid one-two punch of Stranger Than Paradise and Down By Law, director Jim Jarmusch had been looking more and more like a two-hit wonder, making rather weak and witless movies and occasional, admittedly charming, appearances in movies like Blue In The Face and Tigrero. Then along comes Dead Man, Jarmusch's best movie by far and a giant leap out of his rut. Down By Law was enlivened by the amazing Roberto Begnini and, similarly, Dead Man is powered by the magnetic presence of Gary Farmer as Nobody, a huge, shaggy, sublimely serene Native American who rescues Johnny Depp's feckless William Blake and guides him on a transcendental journey from the ragged western brink of civilization to the edge of the world and beyond. Farmer, a Canadian actor, has created one of the most irresistable characters I've ever seen (he's even better in the utterly unseen but wonderful 1989 film Powwow Highway). The black & white film, shot by Robby Muller (awarded best cinematographer of the year from the National Society of Film Critics for his work on this and Breaking The Waves), has the silvery, opalescent shimmer of nitrate, a film stock made obsolete in the late '40s by its explosive flammability. Indeed, Dead Man has a look and feel as if it could burst into flames, struck by the spirit of visionary poet William Blake himself.

12345678910

(Average 7.61)
796 Votes
add to list New List
related lists


about greencine · donations · refer a friend · support · help · genres
contact us · press room · privacy policy · terms · sitemap · affiliates · advertise

Copyright © 2005 GreenCine LLC. All rights reserved.
© 2006 All Media Guide, LLC. Portions of content provided by All Movie Guide®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC.